Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Guys. I am in love. 

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell follows Cath, a freshman in college, who is less than enthusiastic about her impending college experience. Her twin sister, Wren, has abandoned her and their shared love of Simon Snow (a book series about magicians) on favor of independence. Cath is alone with her fanfiction and anxiety in a world of strangers until her roommate Reagan and Reagan’s friend Levi coax her out of her shell and show her how much fun college can be. 

The characters were definitely the best thing about this story. They are all real and relatable; they have good qualities and flaws and could be real people. I cared so deeply for these characters and I was very sad when the book ended and I couldn’t read about them anymore. 

I LOVED this book. This was my first Rainbow Rowell novel and I was not disappointed. I’m sure I speak for a lot of people when I say that I relate to Cath on a deep and personal level. While Harry Potter is my Simon Snow, I related on almost every level to Cath and her struggles. Even if you aren’t a fangirl or fanboy yourself, this book is still full of fun. The romance is adorable, the plot is compelling, and the characters are amazing. Fangirl explores deep issues such as the desire for acceptance, divorce, and abandonment. I truly think that anyone could enjoy Cath’s story. 

5/5 stars. Would HIGHLY recommend. 

I hope you guys enjoy this review. Leave me a like and a comment and let me know what you thought about this book. 

Author: paperbackprincess14

I suck at these "about me" sections. If you have a question just ask :)

2 thoughts on “Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell”

Leave a Reply

