Reread Review: City of Bones

The first time I read this book, I was a freshman in high school. 2009 me loved every second of this book and I devoured it in one night. While I still very much enjoyed City of Bones, 2017 me is a little more critical of Cassandra Clare’s first book. 
As most of you probably know, City of Bones follows a fifteen year old girl, named Clary, who is suddenly thrust into a magical world of myths and monsters after a fateful encounter at a mysterious nightclub. With the help of an intriguing and infuriating boy, named Jace, and her best friend, Simon, Clary must navigate the treacherous waters of this new world to find and save her missing mother. 

Just like the first time I read this book, I adored Jace and Simon. Sarcastic and funny, they stole my heart yet again. Surprisingly, this read through of City of  Bones was somewhat tainted with a slight distaste for Clary. Her character was a little too stubborn for me and at the beginning of the novel, she treats the people she cares about quite badly. Now, I understand that she’s a teenager and in a very stressful and frightening situation, but she seemed unnecessarily rude and almost mean at times. I can say, however, that her character development was excellent and I was much happier with her in the second half of the book. 

To be honest, the second half of the book was just better overall. The beginning is a bit slow as Clary learns the ins and outs of her new world, but the story significantly picks up after the halfway point. 

While I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as I did in 2009, I still really liked City of Bones. I am planning to continue the series, as I have only ever read the first three. 

3.75/5 stars. 

Author: paperbackprincess14

I suck at these "about me" sections. If you have a question just ask :)

Leave a Reply

