Review: The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott

This is not related to Harry Potter.  Even so, this book was highly entertaining and was action-packed from start to finish.  I gave it 4 out of 5 stars and definitely recommend it.  It was an excellent start to a series.

The novel follows a brother and sister, Sophie and Josh, fifteen year old twins who are enjoying a typical summer in San Francisco.  Josh gets a job working at a small bookshop for a man named Nick Fleming.  One day a strange man attacks Nick and Josh and Sophie attempt to help only to be thrust into a magical and dangerous world.  They soon learn that Nick Fleming is really Nicholas Flamel, an immortal on the run.  Sophie and Josh have a bigger role in this magical world than they ever imagined.

I read this book at the insistence of my husband and I was not disappointed.  I immensely enjoyed the plot and the characters.  I was never bored reading the adventure and found it extremely difficult to put my book down and take care of my responsibilities.  The fight/action scenes were extremely well written and they were generously distributed throughout the novel.  I adored the relationship between the siblings and the examination of their twin bond.  The complex character of Flamel himself was fascinating to read and I found myself simultaneously trusting him and questioning his motives, much like Josh and Sophie.

Overall, I am excited to continue this series and I am very happy it was recommended to me.  I definitely think you guys should check it out because it was fantastic.

Author: paperbackprincess14

I suck at these "about me" sections. If you have a question just ask :)

Leave a Reply

